Picture
I tried to keep the recipe simple this week, especially because I tried 2 different types of green beans and wanted to be able to taste the difference if there was one.

And you might be wondering, "Cassie, how have you made it this far in life without eating something as basic as green beans???" Well, I think I've tried them, canned, or mixed in with vegetable soups, but never on their own and fresh, so I'm here to prove myself wrong that hopefully fresh green beans can taste good!


Recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/the-essence-of-emeril/haricots-verts-recipe/index.html

Picture



The beans on the left are "french green beans" which I think are the same things as "haricot vert", the beans on the right are regular ol' green beans...

Picture




Blanching for a minute or 3... I added the regular green beans a few minutes early since they would need a little longer than the french green beans.

Picture



Both types of beans sizzling away together in the saute pan for a few minutes after their ice bath. A little sea salt and fresh cracked pepper really go a long way with lots of veggies!

Picture




The vibrant green of these babies just looks fun and healthy too! I know I sound a bit crazy, but it's all good...

Picture
So what's the verdict? I went back for seconds! Well, I actually had seconds of the skinny french green beans. They were a little more tender and had a slightly different flavor. Yep, I picked those ones out of the skillet for a second helping. The big ones weren't all bad, but they have this flavor that I associate with what I imagine is a "grassy" or "earthy" flavor and I feel like the rabbits out back would love it... lol... I have quite the imagination when it comes to food if you haven't noticed ;) But those little french green beans? Yum!!!

Side note: Brandon liked them and didn't realize there were even two different kinds! It's all in the pickiness of the eater I guess...




Leave a Reply.