Picture
Oh, peas! I've been excited to try out the fresh version of you...

I bought some at the market in the spring and they camped out in my refrigerator until I realized they probably weren't good anymore...

And they weren't in season all summer, so when I saw fresh shelled peas at the market this week, I just had to get some...

They're going to become Italian Peas! Recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/italian-peas/

Picture
I remember cans of peas being dumped into a bowl as a kid, and nothing about that was appetizing... Wrinkly, wet, syrupy, yellowish/green... Ugh! I've never tried them, except mixed into soups or pasta dishes... which I still pick out when it's easy enough...

So I've been anxious to see if they're any better when fresh. I mean, they look beautiful that way!

Picture
This recipe mixed in some onions, garlic & chicken broth.

I didn't want to open chicken broth for just 1 Tablespoon, so I followed the suggestion to just use 1 T water and a sprinkle of chicken bouillon. I also added an extra spoonful of water because the skillet seemed a little dry.

I also tried a recommendation by a reviewer to add a sprinkle of parm cheese on top before serving.

Picture
All of these years of "hating" the idea of peas... Definitely a little nervous!

Picture
Not instantly in love, but I'm thinking about it...

I didn't instantly hate it either, so that's a start!

I did finish my helping, but didn't go back for seconds.



Picture
Eh, I declare this one a semi-success...

I'll definitely try peas again, but maybe not with this recipe. There has to be a better way to like peas!

I really want to like peas, so if anyone has a suggestion of a way to make a picky eater fall in love with peas, send it my way!




Leave a Reply.